The Seminar will be held on Wednesday 5th May 2021 at the below time
WA (AWST) 11am – 12pm
NT, SA (ACST) 12:30pm -1:30pm
QLD, VIC, NSW, ACT, TAS (AEST) 1pm – 2pm
New Zealand (NZST) 3pm – 4pm

Register to attend this free event via the link here.

Presentations include:
Highlights and Challenges for Teaching Indigenous Health Online During a Pandemic – Ms Candice McKenzie, Associate Head of School, Indigenous Strategy, Deakin University

The impact of COVID-19 on the University of Notre Dame Fremantle School of Medicine Kimberley Learning on Country Program – Dr Kim Isaacs and Prof David Paul, The University of Notre Dame, Fremantle

Modifying Hauora Māori teaching modules for the online environment – Jeannine Stairmand and Rhiannon Jones – University of Otago, Wellington

Cultural practice in healing and recovery: learning from Elders and community via Zoom – adaptations and inspirations on keeping it safe, authentic and reciprocal – Dr Karen Fildes, Dr Marlene Longbottom and Prof Kathie Clapham – The University of Wollongong

Speaker Biographies

Candice McKenzie is a proud Warramungu, Walpiri woman from Darwin, Northern Territory. Candice currently maintains an Associate Head of School, Indigenous Strategy position within Deakin University, School of Medicine. Candice has a background in education and public health and has been actively involved in health education for over 8 years in both the Northern Territory and Victoria. Her earlier work includes teaching in remote Northern Territory communities and at the NIKERI Institute in Primary, Secondary and master’s education.


Dr Kim Isaacs is a proud Yawuru, Karajarri and Noongar Woman. She is an Aboriginal Health Lecturer at the University of Notre Dame Australia School of Medicine (Fremantle Campus) and hosts several Broome learning on country programs. Kim is a Fellow of the Royal Australian College of General Practitioners and has worked in rural and remote health in the Kimberley region primarily within the ACCHO sector and has a passion for improving primary health care and child health. In 2020 Kim was awarded the Rural Health West Clinical Leadership award for Western Australia.


Jeannine Stairmand: Jeannine (Ngati Porou) is a Lecturer based in Te Rōpū Rangahau Hauora a Eru Pōmare/Māori Health Research Centre and the Department of Public Health at the University of Otago, Wellington. In 2019 she was appointed as the convenor Hauora Māori for the 4th and 5th year vertical module in the Advanced Learning in Medicine undergraduate programme Bachelor of Medicine and Bachelor of Surgery (MB ChB). Jeannine is also the current convenor of ‘Health Promotion Planning and Evaluation’ a post graduate Public Health paper and a member of the Cancer and Chronic Conditions (C3) Research Group. Currently she is working with a team undertaking a randomised control trial evaluating a comprehensive self-management programme delivered by mobile and web-based technologies for people with Type 2 diabetes and pre-diabetes. Jeannine’s passion and focus is on activities which can contribute to improving Māori health.


Dr Marlene Longbottom & Dr Karen Fildes: Ngarruwan Ngadju is an Indigenous-led health and wellbeing research centre located within the Australian Health Services Research Institute at the University of Wollongong. Professor Kathleen Clapham leads the Ngarruwan Ngadju research program. Kathleen is an Aboriginal Australian; a descendent of the Murrawarri people of north-western NSW. Dr Marlene Longbottom is a Yuin woman, from Roseby Park mission (Jerrinja) and is the inaugural Aboriginal Postdoctoral Research Fellow at Ngarruwan Ngadju. Dr Karen Fildes is a non-Aboriginal women working in the School of Medicine, Faculty of Science Medicine and Health, University of Wollongong. The Indigenous Trauma Recovery Practice certificate is delivered within an Indigenous framework, to predominantly Indigenous students. It is a collaboration between Faculties at UOW, local Aboriginal community members and Aboriginal experts in the delivery of trauma informed services around the country including but not limited to Prof Dawn Bessarab, Prof Judy Atkinson and Prof Ngaire Brown.