The 2009 LIMElight Awards were presented by the Hon Warren Snowdon at the Official LIME Connection III Dinner and were given in recognition of the significant and outstanding work of staff, students and medical schools in the teaching and learning of Indigenous health in medical education, as well as Indigenous student recruitment. These awards acknowledge innovative programmes or initiatives which address critical issues, bring people together collaboratively and implement innovative solutions.

These awards were judged by a panel consisting of:

  • A/Prof. Marlene Drysdale – Monash University
  • Dr David Jansen -Te ORA
  • Mr Romlie Mokak – AIDA
  • Prof. Neville Yeomans – Former Dean, University of Western Sydney

Leading innovation in curriculum implementation
This award category recognises the implementation of Indigenous health content in medical curricula

The Centre for Aboriginal Medical and Dental Health
The University of Western Australia

Leading innovation in Indigenous student recruitment, support and graduation

Dr Elana Taipapaki Curtis
The University of Auckland

Leading innovation in community engagement

No winner

‘LIMElight Leadership Award’ for outstanding leadership by an individual
This award recognises an individual who has made a distinguished contribution to Indigenous Medical education

Professor Ian Anderson
The University of Melbourne

Professor Helen Milroy
The University of Western Australia

Student Award
This award recognises a student who has been involved in leadership activities e.g. encouraging Indigenous students to undertake medicine, supporting fellow students in the university setting or participation in Indigenous medical education forums

Ms Danielle Arabena
The University of Queensland

High Commendation for a Student
(presented with a certificate)

Ms Courtney Hore 
University of Otago