LIMElight Awards 2011

The 2011 LIMElight Awards were presented by Professor Peter Joyce from the University of Otago, Christchurch, at the LIME Connection IV Dinner on November 30th.

The awards were given in recognition of the significant and outstanding work staff, students and medical schools with regard to the teaching of Indigenous health in medical education, as well as Indigenous student recruitment. These awards acknowledge innovative initiatives which address critical issues, bring people together collaboratively and implement innovative solutions.

The awards were presented to the following recipients:

Award Catagory


Leading innovation in curriculum implementation 
Dr Rhys Jones, The University of Auckland
Leading innovation in Indigenous student recruitment, support and graduation 
Shalom Gamarada Ngiyani Yana Scholarship Program, The University of New South Wales
Leading innovation in community engagement Indigenous Health Attachment Year 5, University of Western Sydney
‘LIMElight Leadership Award' for outstanding leadership by an individual Dr David Paul, The University of Western Australia
Student Award Alicia Veasey, The University of Queensland/ AIDA
Student Award Ibrahim Solomon, The University of Auckland


LIME Light Award Winners L-R: Dana Slape (accepting on behalf of Alicia Veasey); Ibrahim Solomon; Rhys Jones; David Paul; Jenny Akers and Christine Carraige (Western Sydney); Lisa Jackson Pulver (UNSW).



Selection Criteria

The LIMElight Committee judged nominations based on the following selection criteria:

  1. How has the nominee contributed to Aboriginal & Torres Strait Islander or Māori Education?
  2. What particular circumstances differentiate the winning nominee from others?
  3. Demonstrated interest and experience in Aboriginal & Torres Strait Islander or Māori  health
  4. Commitment to improving Aboriginal & Torres Strait Islander or Māori health in the future
  5. Why is the nominee an outstanding leader? (only applicable to Leadership and Student Awards)

Selection Committee:

The LIMELight Awards were judged by a Selection Committee including:

•    A/Prof. Ngiare Brown, Australian Indigenous Doctors’ Association
•    Prof. Michael Hensley, Former Dean, The University of Newcastle
•    Prof. Lisa Jackson-Pulver, The University of New South Wales
•    Dr David Jansen, Te Ohu Rata o Aotearoa
•    Dr Jane Macleod, Griffith University