LIMElight Awards 2007

In recognition of the wonderful work staff and medical schools are doing in Indigenous health. These awards acknowledge an innovative programme or initiative which addresses critical issues, brings people together collaboratively and implements an innovative solution.

These awards were judged by an independent panel consisting of:

Dr David Jansen - Teora (Maori Medical Practitioners Association of Aoteroroa)
Dr Marlene Kong - AIDA (Australian Indigenous Doctors Association)
Professor Steven Leader - The University of Sydney

Award Winner

Leading innovation in curriculum implementation

 Ms Suzanne Pitama
The University of Otago

Leading innovation in Indigenous student recruitment support & graduation

Centre for Aboriginal & Medical Health
The University of Western Australia

Leading innovation in cultural & organisational change

Dr David Paul
The University of Western Australia

Dr Tamara Mackean
Flinders University

Leading innovation in community engagement

Winnunga Nimmityjah
Aboriginal Health Service

LIMELight Leadership Award

For outstanding leadership by an individual

A/ Prof. Marlene Drysdale
Monash University

A/Prof. John Broughton
University of Otago


The LIMELight Awards were presented during the official dinner of the LIME Connection II.

A/Prof. Marlene Drysdale (Monash) & A/Prof. John Broughton (Otago)

(L-R) Ms Adele Cox (UWA), DrTamara Mackean (Flinders), Dr David Paul (UWA), A/Prof. Helen Milroy (UWA), Dr. Paula Edgill (UWA)

MS Suzanne Pitama (Otago)

Mr Greg Phillips & Dr Peter Sharp (on behalf of Winnunga Nimmityjah Aboriginal Health Service)